Login
snewsgnewsmessagegeneralfactioninventorycombatroom
Message CentreRPG CentreQuestion Centre
Archives » Question about skill points
Page 1 2
Year 8 Day 257 5:09
Baal Zebub

Hello, I am brand new to this game.

I am trying to decide the value of skill points vs. hit point modifiers, force%, etc., so I can pick the race that would best suit my needs. I am finding it a little difficult to make an educated decision because I cannot find a page stating how often you earn additional points. The guide/rules seem a bit convoluted.

I know you start with 10 points to allocate. How many more do you get when you level up? Or do you have to use the skill?

What are the typical levels of people who play regularly.. who have been on 1 month? 1 year?

Thanks,

Baal

Year 8 Day 257 5:16
Lesley Aspey

The system is quite simple, you earn hit points and gain a skill point every time you gain a level.

The amount of time it takes to gain a level is unique to an individual. It all depends on how you play; if you stay on IRC indefinitely you will stay at level 1. If you just fly around and don't do faction jobs you may advance quite quickly but then you probably wont be able to buy stuff like ships or weapons etc.

The decision is all yours although as the rules say, if you want a particular skill at a high level, get it at generation as you may not be able to get it there later (you can it just takes a long time).

Year 8 Day 257 5:25
Teyacapan Quetzalxochitl

One skill point per level, and if you make level 10 in a year then you're doing pretty good.

Staff consensus that avatar was inappropriately suggestive. (retards)
Year 8 Day 257 5:53
Baal Zebub

1 extra point per level, and 10 points in a year. Thanks. I am going to have to reconsider things.

About the skills/attributes that are not being used. Has it been that way a long time? or have those skills been created recently? Example: Star fighter Space Combat.