I've just boarded a Starspeeder in an NPC-owned starport with a party and my two squads were left behind. I was wondering if my squads should have followed me onto the Starspeeder? The rules tell me they'll follow me into other entities and a Starspeeder can carry 40 passengers. Since it's not a normal entity I expected something like this would happen, but I was wondering if it was deliberately not included, if they were supposed to come along and it's a bug or if it's something on the cards for a rare afternoon when the more important stuff is done.
It may have been disabled due to something I had discovered when attempting the same thing.
When I spawned, I began ferrying troopers off the homeworld. At that time, squads would follow you onto the Starspeeder (2 squads + party= 36, 37 counting myself) and I set off to unload my troops onto an unshielded planet.
The issue arose when I landed. My party made it off fine, but my 2 squads were deleted forever, with no event generated. I made a bug report about it at the time, and I would only assume that the ability to have them board was removed to prevent squads from being deleted forever upon reaching the destination.
Or, it could be a legit bug.
Personally, I wouldn't attempt it because losing 2 squads to the Void really sucked.