Year

Day

Time

21:48:56

Login
snewsgnewsmessagegeneralfactioninventorycombatroom
Year 11 Day 249 16:48
Greetings everyone :)

I'm not new to roleplaying, but to be fair, besides the movies and some videogames I am pretty new to Star Wars, considering at least 80% of the races made me raise my eyebrows.

I picked one that seemed pretty cool: a nice chance of being force sensitive, some hp bonus and race multipliers and the ability to cloak itself.

However, I mainly have two questions on my race, which is Defel by the way.

1) On several wikis, I read that regular light is blinding to them, but the races guide of the Combine says it's not. Is this a typo, or some sort of fix in the game for balance?

2) How should I roleplay a Defel? Is it capable of grunting the common language somewhat or should I think more of them as Wookiees?

Year 11 Day 249 16:52
Defel speak Basic without a problem, to my knowledge.

I've also not heard of regular light being blinding to them, although they tend to prefer shadows as they blend in better. Certainly in one of Zahn's original books (which I believe to be their first appearance) one is moving around a spaceport with humans without problems.

"May the Grace of Ara go with you, and His Vengeance be wrought upon your enemies."

Only fools and children dream of heroes.
Year 11 Day 249 18:10
I think there was something about they being used to the infra-red light on their home planet and so wear googles on other planets to filter out the other 'visible' spectrum light, but not sure if it blinds them or what.