200 are online

Year

Day

Time

21:21:50

Login
snewsgnewsmessagegeneralfactioninventorycombatroom
Year 16 Day 294 20:06
Personally, I'd ask a commissioned artist if it was alright to upload a piece as a public custom. But, SWC doesn't have what might be called clear and well defined copyright laws.

Seeing as a recent suggestion puts the art team in the position of deciding who gets OOC benefits from public art work, I think it might be worthwhile to clarify this point so that future disagreements can be averted.

So, I guess I'm asking, what's the policy on this? Who owns commissioned artwork for purposes of submitting it as a public custom?

Edited By: Bentake Hartok on Year 16 Day 294 20:10

SWC Banner (1 of 1)-3
Year 16 Day 294 21:49
As an artist I would say the person that bought it. However I would say that they cannot let someone else use their image they bought to upload - only the original purchaser.

Ellias_sig6.png
Year 16 Day 295 8:19
Well as someone who has bought art online I know there are two different ways it is generally handled.

1) You buy it for your private use but the artist stills owns it. (Which is the cheapest and used the most)

2) You buy it and you also buy the ownership. (This means you own it 100% and can use it where you want, resale it, give it out for free, whatever and the artist who made it gets nothing else for it)